Fashion News: ANTM comes to an end

Earlier this week model and mogul Tyra Banks announced that this will be the last season of America’s Next Top Model.

I don’t know about you all but that was my show! My best friend and I would call each other on the phone and watch it together every week! It was that serious! ANTM gave viewers insight into the competitive world of modeling and helped lauched many careers along the way.

It also broke the stereotype of what we consider to be “model material.” There were models of color, plus sized models, short models, models with skin disorders and also Transgender models. The show was really groundbreaking when you think about it.

I’ll be honest I haven’t watched too many of the recent episodes. After a while I didn’t have the same enthusiasm as I once did or the time. I wasn’t too fond of the co-ed, girls vs guys episodes but I will give credit where it’s due. It was very creative. After such a long run, you have to find new ways to stay current. Tyra definitely did that, especially with the implementation of social media, allowing the fans to give their input on their favorite models. But as Ms. Banks stated via her twitter account, “I truly believe it’s time.” The last episode of cycle 22 will be December 4th, Tyra’s birthday.

I will miss this show! Thank you Ms. Banks for teaching us all how to smeyes (smile with your eyes), How to be “fierce” and for blessing the Fashion world with the likes of Eva Pigford, Yaya, Niema, Winnie Harlow and so many others that you gave a chance!

Are you a fan of the show? What are your thoughts? Remember this episode?

“You are still in the running towards becoming America’s Next Top Model!”

Signing off,

The College Grad

Leave a Reply

